I slew the dragon!

I won!  I won!  I won Nanowrimo.

Well, I completed the required number of words in the allotted time.  Technically, I didn’t finish my novel because I have another 100k to go before the first draft is done, then a whole lot of editing and rewriting.  And alpha readers, and more rewriting, and beta readers, and more rewriting… then a fresh pair of eyes who reads that genre….

Then sending it out….

But, I still feel pretty good.  And I ordered the t-shirt.

So, what have I learned?

Stephen King is right, sit down and write every day, even if it’s crap.  That’s how I got it done, and it did get easier as I got in the habit of writing every day.

Chick Wendig is right,too.  Finish your shit.

I worked out the entier… 300 page… complicated… fantasy world…. plot.

Writing 3500 words a day can actually make your brain hurt.

Leave a comment