Cancon and deadlines

I know it’s been awhile since I wrote anything, sorry. But sometimes life catches up and you run out of hours.

Cancon where I did my first presentation to other writers, was 3 weeks before the deadline for a 10k word story I hadn’t started yet.

My darling hubby also had minor heart surgery that month. Is there even such a thing as minor heart surgery?!

Either way it totally wrecked my concentration and process. The first draft of this story was like pulling teeth from an angry cat with your bare hands.

But 2nd draft is now done and I’m sending it off to a few friends for a quick read to make sure it makes sense before shipping it off to the publisher.

In happier news, my first story for this publisher is coming out tomorrow!!!!

Oh, another short is being published in mid-October. The Ottawa Independent Writers are celebrating thirty years by putting out an anthology of 30 stories by their members.

I’m so excited!

My presentation at Cancon seemed to go well. About 30 ppl showed up and took notes. And handouts, which I promise to put up on my website soon. Soonish.

One even caught me in a math error.  A bit embarrassing for a bookkeeper.  But I  brilliantly blamed it on Chizine’s open bar the night before, and insufficient coffee that morning.  I got a lot of understanding nods.

 

Must run, company just arrived.

Leave a Reply

