Nightmare at the airport, sorta…

This weekend was my 15th wedding anniversary and my mother in law’s 80th birthday. So my darling hubby and I were flying to Winnipeg. We expected to arrive about midnight.

Not exactly….

The first plane was delayed by an hour. So we got to Toronto with about 20 minutes to make our connecting flight. We raced through the airport, luggage piled on my lap, hubby pushing my wheelchair at top speed. We need not have rushed. Second plane was also delayed by an hour or more.

We finally get to the runway, despite the woman demanding special treatment and the old guy losing his ticket. We’re  on our way.

Oh. No we’re not.  The flight computer is dead. So we sit for half an hour while they try rebooting and trying to figure out the error messages.  Finally they decide to use a new plane. We taxi back to the airport. Well, better the waste of time than finding the computer doesn’t work at 30k feet.

We had eaten at 430pm to get to the airport in time. It was now after 11pm. I was getting both tired and hungry. And cranky.

But we get on the new plane. They’re going to have snacks. Both planes had only pretzels. Sigh.

Got to Winnipeg around 4am Ontario time. Almost 12 hours since my last meal, all of it awake and annoyed.

The airport in Winnipeg had only one wheelchair. One. There were 3 people on the plane who needed one to deboard.

430am. Finally got off the plane. Bed by 530am, 24 hours after getting up. Tired doesn’t begin to cover it.

When I’m tired and cranky I’m downright antisocial.  I’m an introvert to start with, and get peopled out really easily.

Darling hubby is one of 7 children, they pretty much all have kids, those kids are now getting married and having kids.

Did I mention the antisocial? And the tired. And the jonesing to work on my novel. Or the yule short story for an anthology.

But at least there’s wine and ice cream cake.

One thought on “Nightmare at the airport, sorta…”

Leave a Reply

