So, shit happens….

So, yesterday was interesting, today was frustrating.

I had a 9am appointment for a full physical. With bloodwork, so no breakfast, not even coffee or tea. I sat at a restaurant drinking herbal tea to wait for the appt.

Somewhere between the restaurant, the Dr’s office and the bloodwork, my phone got stolen. We called the only 3 places it could be, then visited in person, just in case, and then called again later in case someone working there just didn’t tell everyone they’d found it.

No luck, it is gone. We tried calling it first of course, in case it was in the bottom of my backpack, or had fallen out in the car. It rang the first 2 times, but not where we could hear it. Then it was powered down, when it should have been at 90% power. Shit a brick!

So today, in between mourning my photos, my winning streak at solitaire and my phone numbers… I called Bell to report it stolen.

Well, okay, first I tried to use their “award winning user friendly website”.  ROFLAO

The only way to report your phone stolen from Canada is… wait for it…. to call them on your cell.  Seriously.  The “talk to a representative” gets you sales, who can do nothing. Searching on “stolen phone” gets you the advice about calling from your cell. AND  the 1-800 number is not working today.

L Stewart

Eventually, I just call the sales rep and play the “get me a manager” game until I reach someone to report this fiasco to. She disables my phone, adds it to the local cop’s watch list, adds it to the nationwide Bell watch list, so no-one can change the phone # and use it. The Bell phones don’t have sim cards to swap out, they just have internal thingies. So it’s trackable. (unless it’s powered down)  Which mine still is.

But, she says it was powered on yesterday at 4:20pm. about 7 hours after it was stolen. And that my lock screen kept them from using it; calling Japan, buying a small country, etc.  Yay!

Now… I bought insurance when I bought the phone… replace it!

Nope, too easy. The reason I’ve been getting texts from Bell urging me to upgrade, is that my contract ended a couple months ago, so did my insurance.

New Note 5 phone $369.  Nope, it’s $274 at Rogers, cancel my account, and maybe my satellite TV too, I’ve been looking at Shaw direct lately. They have Crave AND Shomi!

New Note 5, $250.  Includes unlimited nationwide calling, video and chat.

Go me!   But… I have a show on Saturday, I need my Square to sell books. But this is a whole new frustration with a different company.

Square is linked to the device, not the account. I can’t switch it to my hubby’s phone until mine arrives, may not be able to switch it to the new phone.  Another email sent to customer support…

Leave a Reply

