Deep in the first week of Nano

11, 528.

Words.

in 4 days.

Holy freaking shit.  No wonder my head hurt when I awoke this morning, I likely sprained it.

And I have 3 more weeks to keep up this pace to get to 50,000 by midnight Nov. 30th.

So… why?

Because you have to write every day to get good., because the muse may come to you with words of silk and honey, but she has to know where to find you.  I’ll be at my desk.  Every day. Just like Stephen King said.

And hopefully, the habit of writing everyday will come back.  I used to write every day, finished a YA novel, 2 1st draft novels and a couple of film scripts.

But when I was sick for a year, that habit was the first thing to go.  So now,, ‘m fighting to get it back.  To finish a fantasy novel by the end of the month, then edit it into a reasonable second draft.  To stay writing to expand the YA novel to 50-75,000 words and submit it.

To get at least some of the hundreds of stories and voices onto paper before they make me nuts.

To get my alpha readers a second draft so they’ll stop whining.  🙂

Leave a Reply

